Prom Under $100

Hey KatyShops readers! It’s Maddie! Last weekend was my first (and last) prom! I was out of town for my junior prom, but I decided to go this year. The only thing is, I didn’t want to spend hundreds of dollars on one night, especially when I have college coming up and graduation weekend, not to mention the presents I have to buy for birthdays, graduations, Mother’s Day, and Father’s Day. So, I found a way to do prom under $100. Now, this doesn’t count the whole prom experience; I can’t advise anyone on how to do the whole experience–outfit, tickets, dinner, limo–for under $100.

prom1 prom2

Dress-Little Mistress-ASOS; Shoes-Comfort Plus by Predictions-Payless; Earrings-Charlotte Russe (out of stock)

The grand total is (drum roll, please): $87.85!

Here are my prom under $100 tips:

  • Do your own hair! I just straightened mine and pinned my bangs back, but if you want something fancier, curl it or style an up-do. Styling your own hair isn’t hard, especially when you have Pinterest to browse.
  • Stand out! Chances are, you’ll get tons of compliments if you choose a unique dress. And you can probably find a cheaper dress if you go with something less traditional.
  • Look for sales! I got my dress on-sale and I’m not ashamed. With the escalating costs of prom, buying an on-sale dress you’ll most likely wear once really saves money.
  • Buy your dress, shoes, and/or jewelry from smaller retailers! I didn’t go to a large department store for my dress. Instead, I chose to buy it from an online shop based in Europe. I knew I’d get a low cost, something unique, as well as free shipping (I ordered my dress from ASOS, so I’m not saying every retailer will have free shipping. Also, on a side note, there were some problems with my dress not getting to my house on time. It only arrived three days late and three days before prom, but the customer service at ASOS was amazing! They even offered me 10% off my next purchase to compensate for the shipping problems).

I hope you have/had fun at your prom or special occasion!

For more of my musings, head on over to Caramel and Salt!

May 6, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

