Maddie Loves Doughnuts

Hello! It’s Maddie, KatyShops’s daughter, guest posting yet again! Now, I know doughnuts are the new cupcakes, but I have always loved doughnuts. I remember when I was younger, I would wake up to a box of Dunkin’ Donuts or I would drive to the doughnut store with my dad to pick out a dozen for my family. As I’ve grown older, my tastes have grown beyond the typical cream-filled and glazed varieties. I crave interesting, creative doughnuts now. And boy, do I have some tasty doughnut shops to share with you!

If you live in the Atlanta area, there are two shops for you. The first, Sublime Doughnuts, is a close tie for my favorite doughnut shop. Its flavors are crazy, but still adhere to the traditional doughnut. This shop is truly a doughnut-lover’s paradise. The shop is not only filled with real doughnuts, but doughnut pillows and books and even mobiles! Anyway, back to the doughnuts. I have tried an incredible, unhealthy amount of their doughnuts, so I know what’s up. If When you go here, here are some doughnuts to try: the Oreo doughnut (a chocolate doughnut topped with icing and Oreo pieces and filled with cream), the Caramel Apple Fritter (an apple fritter glazed and drizzled with caramel), the Orange Dream Star (an orange cream-filled star-shaped doughnut iced with an orange icing), and the S’mores Doughnut (a doughnut topped with a marshmallow icing, a chocolate glaze, and a sprinkling of crushed graham crackers).

Oreo doughnut from Sublime Doughnuts

Oreo doughnut from Sublime Doughnuts

Next up in the ATL is Dutch Monkey Doughnuts. My mom recently introduced me to this shop during the winter and it’s catching up with my love for Sublime. Dutch Monkey sells big, over-the-top doughnuts with some classic, yet innovative, flavor combinations. Now, if you visit Dutch Monkey, you HAVE to try The Dutch Monkey doughnut. This doughnut is filled with dulce de leche and topped with bananas and a chocolate glaze. So, it’s pretty much perfect. Also, I recommend the Salted Caramel Bar (a bar topped with salted caramel and chopped peanuts) because nothing is better than salted caramel.

The Dutch Monkey Doughnut from Dutch Monkey Doughnuts

The Dutch Monkey Doughnut from Dutch Monkey Doughnuts

Blueberry Turnovers from Dutch Monkey Doughnuts

Blueberry Turnovers from Dutch Monkey Doughnuts

For those of you who live in or near NYC or plan on visiting or anything, there is one shop I tried during my last visit that is perfect: The Donut Pub. My aunt, sister, and I visited this store almost every day for a week. It’s that good. This shop isn’t super flashy. It’s small and simple and serves coffee and doughnuts at a little bar. The doughnuts aren’t crazy, but are instead classic flavors done right. This shop makes me fear moving to New York because I know I’ll go there everyday and then gain about 20 pounds each week. I’ve pretty much tried every single doughnut on the menu, and I recommend you do the same. But there are three doughnuts that I really loved: the Boston Creme Doughnut, the Red Velvet Doughnut, and the Eclair.

I’m always on the lookout for doughnuts and doughnut shops, plus I want to start baking my own doughnuts soon! So, if you have any recommendations, want to keep up with my doughnut adventures, or whatever, visit my blog Caramel and Salt! Thanks for reading!

March 11, 2013. Tags: , , , . food.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

