Knock Off Scentsy!

I love the Walmart Better Homes and Gardens  line of products – they have lamps, picture frames, rugs…and now have scented wax tarts for their plugin candle warmers!  They look identical to the Scentsy candle warmers and wax cubes that I love so much.  The only problem with Scentsy is that you have to contact a Scentsy representative to order it.  I love the fact that I can head down to my local Walmart and pick some up.  The warmers are under $20 and the scented wax cubes are only $8 for a set of four.  They come in so many great scents.

December 13, 2011. shopping, Uncategorized.

9 Comments

  1. Sasha replied:

    I am ALL OVER the BHG cubes… have been loving them for quite a while. Newest find is Candied Caramel Pecan. Yum!

  2. Jeannie replied:

    I would really recommend comparing the quality of the warmers and the scent cubes to all of your readers… let them be the judge of what they prefer in this instance.

    If safety is a consideration, Scentsy wax is child- and pet-safe (apple food grade wax) as compared to that of BHG. Read inside the label.

    Additionally, Scentsy also offers a much more diverse selection of scents.

    I am, of course, biased seeing as I sell Scentsy for a living. I’d just hate to see a potential customer pass on Scentsy without at least giving it a chance!

    Love your blog and will definitely continue to read it regularly~ I do love most of your reviews 😉
    Jeannie

    https://scentsbyjean.scentsy.us
    scentsbyjean@gmail.com

    • katyshops replied:

      Thank you for the feedback – I totally appreciate everyone’s opinion. BTW…I really do love Scentsy – I just hate that I have to order it when I am out.

  3. melissa replied:

    I really like scentsy, however, I have a BHG warmer and Scentsy. The BHG has held up better. The glaze on the scentsy is no longer there where the wax is. It creates a burnt smell. Scentsy’s wax is better but save yourself some money and buy the BHG warmer

    • katyshops replied:

      Thanks for the feedback!

    • Dee graham replied:

      Both of my scentsy Warmers smell burnt after an hour or so. what did you mean the glaze is no longer there?

  4. Tara replied:

    Scentsy wax does not get hot so it does not burn if touched. It is also made from food wax not candle wax.
    BHG bars are smaller in size and only have 6 cubes where Scentsy bars have 8 cubes. You can also pour the scentsy wax back into its original container to regain the scent. A scentsy bar can last up to 6 months if handled properly. Scentsy bars are $5 a piece with over 80 scents to choose from. BHG doesn’t have that many scents. A 6 pk of the BHG would be $12 for 36 cubes, but a 6 pk of the scentsy would be $25 for 48 cubes. So for $13 more dollars you are getting 12 more cubes. This just seems like the better deal to me. Yes the scentsy warmers can be a little more expensive than walmart’s BHG warmers but there are more styles and sizes to choose from too. Also each month scentsy puts out a new scent “wax” and a new warmer. For that month they are 10% off the regular price. Scentsy also offers scent circles, room sprays, scent paks, travel tins, and fragrance foams in their scents. I don’t see BHG offering those things. One other thing the scentsy fragrance foams are antibacterial hand sanitizers that are alcohol free so they are safe for young children to use.

  5. Jeannie replied:

    Great reply Tara! You touched on all of the points I would have. I actually like having a rep when I buy other direct sales products. I know I’m getting one-on-one service as compared to not, but everyone has their own opinion when it comes to that.

    Katy – If you ever decide to try out Scentsy products again, please feel free to contact me – by phone, email, etc. I’ll be available to you!

  6. Nicole replied:

    My scentsy also has a burnt smell and has smoke that comes off the top when burning. For the price I would have expected much more especially since I don’t use it all that often. What is there warranty as I have had it for over a year? I am very disappointed. I also have a plug in burner that you can no longer smell the scentsy bar. I have used these maybe a few times a month.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

