Back To School Give Away – Walmart Gift Card $25

***Contest Closed.  The winner has been notified.  Congrats to Lauren!!***

 

Are you ready?  You know it is just around the corner….the first day of school.  Walmart is a great place to pick up everything that you need for the entire school year.  It is also a great place to help your school.  Wal Mart is taking part in Box Tops for Education with over 70 participating brands that have 4 box tops on each product!  I hope you collect Box Tops for Education and turn them into your school.  Those Box Tops will get turned into cold hard cash for your school.  Awesome, right?  You can find Box Tops on all kinds of items from cereal to tortillas.  They are really easy to find.

Courtesy of General Mills & Walmart through My Blog Spark, I was sent a $25 gift card to Walmart to get my back to school shopping started.  They also want to give one of you a $25 Walmart gift card to get your shopping started.

How to Win: Do any of the following (enter as many times as you want)

  • Comment on this post.  Tell me what you love or loathe about back to school shopping
  • Let me know if you have ever turned in a Box Top for Education
  • One entry for being a teacher (you guys rock)…just let me know what you teach.

Give Away Ends on July 29th (that is Friday) at 5pm.  Enter often…good luck!!  I will use a random number generator to pick a winning comment.

Disclosure: The information and $25 gift card to Walmart has been provided by Walmart and General Mills through MyBlogSpark.

July 25, 2011. give away.

98 Comments

  1. debbie replied:

    I like finding bargains on new back to school clothes.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  2. debbie replied:

    I am a special education teacher.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  3. Carin Geraci replied:

    I am a preschool teacher! I have been saving box tops for years….and have a huge bag ready to turn in after school starts! I love buying all NEW school supplies for my kiddos. I HATE having to buy packs of dry erase markers knowing that my kids will be using them at school. They stain clothes! If you have an easy fix to get the ink out of clothing, please let me know!

    Carin

  4. Mimi Stryker Jenkins replied:

    I love shopping for back to school supplies, backpacks and Lunchboxes. I hate taking the kids with me to do the shopping 🙂

    I collect boxtop!

  5. Christy L replied:

    I enjoy back to school shopping…and I send in Box Tops to my sons elementary school,,,have been for years. Love your blog!

  6. Mimi Stryker Jenkins replied:

    I’m a preschool teachers assistant (does that count as being a teacher?)

  7. Laura replied:

    I love seeing the excitement on the kids faces as they are picking out all their school supplies. It puts a smile on my face.
    I have turned in box tops for years as it has helped my school on getting updated technology. What a wonderful and easy cause to support.
    I am a second grade teacher!

    Laura

  8. tcarolinep replied:

    I love back to school shopping. Picking up school supplies with DDs is fun.

  9. tcarolinep replied:

    Yes, I collect BTFE for our school.

  10. tess replied:

    I love all the school supplies sales at walgreens and cvs
    tcogbill at live dot com

  11. tess replied:

    i dont turn the box tops in but i give them to my sister in law and she turns them in …my kids are ages 2 and 3 – so they dont go to school yet- but we stock up on crayons and paper for them…..

  12. Cathy Perry replied:

    I collect Box Tops for Education! Both Andrew and John each got a free book from Scholastic when in preschool for turning in the most box tops! :o)

  13. Cathy Perry replied:

    I am also a certified Elem school teacher who would love a teaching job at my boys elementary school but it is a great school that is really hard to get into! I was a supply teacher there last year and this upcoming year I will continue to sub there and keep my fingers crossed for any upcoming teaching positions! :o)

  14. Cathy Perry replied:

    The $25 Walmart giftcard would definitely help with the cost of school supplies! I have not been school supply shopping yet but plan to soon! ;o)

  15. Cathy Perry replied:

    P.S. I forgot to mention how much I love school supply shopping with my boys! :o)

  16. mindy replied:

    I LOVE back to school shopping..that means the kids are going back to school!! LOL

  17. mindy replied:

    I have turned in box tops…and I have a huge collection from the summer to turn in to our new teacher!!

  18. Debbie L replied:

    I used to turn in the box tops when my kids were in elementary school and then again when my nephew started school but once the kids went to middle school, they would not take them to the school for me. It was too embarrassing for them.

  19. Debbie L replied:

    I love school shopping for supplies, seeing al lthe new stuff and getting organized before the first day.

  20. Mami2jcn replied:

    I dislike the crowds at stores when doing back to school shopping.

  21. Mami2jcn replied:

    I have been collecting box tops for education for the past year.

  22. Laura replied:

    We turn in BoxTops all the time! My daughter’s school has a monthly magazine, and all the kids that collect 100+ get recognized…along with a certificate.

    I *HATE* the crowds for BTS shopping~~uggh! Just pick some pencils and GO already!!!!! This year I vow to start sooner = )

  23. Aimee Roldan replied:

    I collect box tops for my children’s school. This year they will be at the same school, so I won’t have to take turns turns between two schools!

  24. Aimee Roldan replied:

    Oh, and I LOVE back to school shopping, expecially for backpacks and lunchboxes!

    • Aimee Roldan replied:

      Oops, I promise I know how to spell especially. I need to slow down when typing – I had typos on my last two comments! Did you know to check the expiration on the Box Top and make sure it isn’t torn? Someone once told me that the PTSA can’t turn in torn or expired Box Tops.

  25. Michelle Crist replied:

    I love school shopping. I don’t have kids, but I’ve always bought all of my niece and nephews school supplies. I’m down from 8 kids to 4. 😦

  26. Karen wright replied:

    I actually love shopping for back to school! What I don’t love is never having enough funds from the county to buy the supplies I need! I end up spending hundreds of dollars of my own money on classroom supplies because I know we’ll need it! Kids should never suffer because the county can’t find the money! Thanks!

  27. Kristen Smith replied:

    I am excited for back to school this year because it is my first year sending my oldest to “real school” and i have loved letting him pick out all of his goodies! I do keep box tops, and i have turned them in to the pre-school…though i do not do it as much as i should. Thanks to all the teachers out there who have helped to shape my childrens early education years, you have been a blessing!

  28. Becky replied:

    I love brand new boxes of crayons. So many possibilities. I always buy about 5 boxes more than I need and I can grab them whenever we are heading out and I need something to keep the kids occupied (drs. office, etc.). Love any sort of school/office supplies.

  29. Becky replied:

    Oh, and I am a preschool music teacher. Laaaaaaa!

  30. Mari replied:

    I love back to school shopping. I like new lunchboxes. I enjoy it, though my son gets depressed starting August 1st. Is it just me, or does it seem like the back to school sales start earlier every year??

    runningmatey at hotmail dot com

  31. Mari replied:

    Yes, I have collected box tops for years.

    runningmatey at hotmail dot com

  32. Karla replied:

    The best part for me is my kid is no longer in school!!! so I get to shop for myself (or Jessica!)

  33. Pat replied:

    I not only collect box tops but I am the coordinator/chair for our elementary school of over 1,200 students!!!
    Which means-i’m the one who counts them and sends them in for us….pick me!!!

  34. Amy Skaggs replied:

    I collect box tops for both my kid’s schools!

  35. Amy Skaggs replied:

    Love, love, love getting new school supplies for my kids and extras for home this time of year. Nothing worse than having to replace something in January and paying full price.

  36. Amy Skaggs replied:

    Oh yeah, Preschool Assistant Teacher. 🙂

  37. jennifer horn replied:

    I hate the crowds of back to school shopping, but love the great bargains available.

  38. jennifer horn replied:

    We’ve turned in boxtops since my children started school 18 years ago.

  39. jennifer horn replied:

    I’m a daycare teacher, does that count?

  40. Melayla replied:

    I love all the notebooks

  41. DebraS replied:

    I love to think about back to school shopping with my daughter. However, thinking about the perfect trip and going is another story……lol.

  42. Sheila replied:

    What I loathe about Back to School shopping is that no matter what item list I may have (from the school), when we meet the teachers, they hand us a whole new list of needed supplies.

  43. mindy replied:

    I collect box tops!!

  44. mindy replied:

    I love shopping for back to school…because it means my kids are going back to school…LOL…they are ready!!

  45. mindy replied:

    Hate the crowds!!!

  46. mindy replied:

    I always buy tons extra because I don’t think it is right that teachers have to spent their own money buying supplies for the class!!!

  47. Lauren replied:

    I love all the great deals I can get but hate the craziness.

  48. Mary Joy Argo replied:

    My son is just starting kindergarten in Sept so Ive never shopped for back-to-school supplies before. I think I’ll like it.

  49. Samantha replied:

    I love the great deals on back to school clothes and supplies!

  50. Paul replied:

    I have never turned in any Box Tops for Education, please don’t hate me all you teachers.

  51. Paul replied:

    Also, I haven’t had to go Back to School shopping in awhile but I hated my last couple of times because it meant I was sinking a couple of hundred at the Grove City College Bookstore.

  52. LeAnne replied:

    Hi Katy. I am a high school special education teacher and I can’t tell you how many of my students don’t even come to school with a pencil. I don’t have any children but I spend hundreds of dollars buying school supplies just so my students don’t get in trouble for not being prepared.

  53. Selene M. replied:

    When my kids were young, I hated trying to find the right things from ‘the list”.

  54. Selene M. replied:

    I’ve turned in many Boxtops for Education, in fact I took care of the program at my kids’ school.

  55. Kimberly replied:

    I love back to school shopping. My youngest is in High School now and I only have a few years left to do it!

  56. Kimberly replied:

    I have saved box tops for education since my kids were in kindegarten, he is now a senior in high school!

  57. Karla Stuber replied:

    Hi, I just got my first teaching job at at new school in Cherokee county. I need this gift card to help buy supplies for my brand new classroom. I’m so excited to start my new job on August 1st.

  58. Melissa replied:

    I save box tops and give them to my mother in law who turns them in.

  59. Melissa replied:

    The best thing about back to school shopping is the deals, the worst part is that it only happens once a year (now every semester).

  60. Terri replied:

    I actually LIKE shopping for school supplies — makes ME feel like a kid again!

    outofthemist AT gmail DOT com

  61. Terri replied:

    I have turned in many a Box Top for Education!

    outofthemist AT gmail DOT com

  62. Terri replied:

    I have a BS in Early Childhood Education and taught in both Private (St. Michael’s Catholic) and Public schools. When my daughter was in Elementary School, I subbed at her school to be close to her!

    outofthemist AT gmail DOT com

  63. Rebecca Shockley replied:

    I loathe how many school supplies get added each year

  64. Rebecca Shockley replied:

    I turn in Box Tops all the time, it benefits the school and the kids!

  65. Fern Russell replied:

    We LOVE back to school shopping, me in particular. Call me crazy but I love the smell of wooden pencils and new rubber erasers 🙂 I guess it reminds me of being a kid and getting all excited about going to get new stuff with my Mom and now I get to share the joy. These days the list of supplies could choke a horse but, hey, kids’ education is everything so if they need these things, so be it. And, yes, teachers we thank you for all you do.

    Yes, we have turned in Box Tops to help the school

  66. Tracy replied:

    Back to school shopping is stressful for me because it reminds me how little time I have left to enjoy my daughters company over the summer. I am one of those rare (apparently) mothers that always loved summer vacation, spring break, winter break and holidays because it meant more time spent with my girls – I saved all my PTO days up, going to work sick sometimes, so I could spend every minute with them. During the school year they are pulled in so many directions and even though we are together almost every evening it’s not relaxed or much fun.

  67. Julie Laws replied:

    I enjoy going clothes shopping for school with my daughter thanks

  68. Julie Laws replied:

    Ever since my kids were in grade school.I have collected box tops and turned tehime in

  69. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I don’t like fighting the crowds during this time, so we try to plan ahead for the next season in advance! 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win!
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  70. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I have not yet participated in boxtops, but it looks interesting!
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  71. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    What do I love? Probably all of the fresh and brand new supplies and clothing! 🙂
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  72. Tia replied:

    I loathe shopping generally because I hate spending money! I was raised poor and I continue to be poor.
    tiasweepstakes@gmail.com

  73. Tia replied:

    I love collecting Box Tops for Education. I give them to my step-daughter when I see her and hope that she hands them in before losing them.
    tiasweepstakes@gmail.com

  74. ewhatley replied:

    I like that all the stores have great sale prices on everything we need. Also, we have a tax free shopping period, although this year it’s AFTER school starts in my county.

  75. Deanna G. replied:

    I’ve never turned in a Box Top.

  76. Deanna G. replied:

    I like seeing all the new designs and colors for all the school supplies & backpacks! 🙂

  77. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog replied:

    I love picking out back to school clothes! Thank you!!

  78. Emily replied:

    i hate back to school shopping because its hard to know which item(s) kids really need and will use, and which ones they just want or the teachers say they should get but then don’t use.

  79. Emily replied:

    i always clip box tops for the local schools when they are on the packages i buy.

  80. Nancy replied:

    I adore back to school shopping!

  81. Nancy replied:

    I’ve collected Boxtops and donated them to schools since my children were small . They’re out of college now, so that’s a long time!

  82. Nancy replied:

    I am a retired elementary school librarian. Hope that counts also!

  83. The Knapps replied:

    I love back to school shopping! Finding the bargains is fun 🙂

  84. The Knapps replied:

    I have turned in the box tops before, they had just started them when I was in school and I turned them in and plan to do so with my child if it’s still around when he starts school in a few years.

  85. Bonnie P replied:

    I hate back to school shopping. Kids are still wearing shorts to school. I spent $33 on school supplies yesterday. Blew my whole food budget yesterday! That’s only one child.
    bepoia(at)hotmail(dot)com

  86. Bonnie P replied:

    I saved Box tops till daughter was in 8th grade. High school doesn’t collect them anymore
    bepoia(at)hotmail(dot)com

  87. Shelley replied:

    I’m actually having fun back-to-school shopping this year. I’m a new homeschooler to my 7yo Autistic son. Very expensive, but so many fun things to teach him.

  88. Shelley replied:

    YES…I always turn in Boxtops! My middle daughter was in Elem. school last year, and she turned in the most in her class!!!

  89. Shelley replied:

    I consider myself a teacher now (does it count being a homeschool teacher?). I also am an honorary speech teacher to my son…been doing it for 5 years now! And my 18yo daughter is going to college this year to be a Kindergarten teacher! 🙂

  90. Karin Wade replied:

    I hate the crowds during back to school shopping; but I love the great deals!

  91. sherri crawford replied:

    i hate clothes shopping, all the everything has to be perfect is irritating

  92. sherri crawford replied:

    i used to turn them in when the kids were in elementary school

  93. RaettigFamily replied:

    I despise the crowds

  94. Chris replied:

    I love turning in Box Tops to the school knowing it will help them out!

  95. Chris replied:

    Love finding great deals on school supplies like the new washable dry erase markers. I hope they work.

  96. Laura replied:

    I shop WallyWorld & Staples—depends on my mood! All I know is that things have to be PINK. =)

  97. baby clothes replied:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in
    exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

