Fit Friday – What worked for me

I hope this post isn’t TMI…but I wanted to share with you a program that I just finished that was amazing!  After I finished training for and running my 5th Half Marathon in March I was shocked at how much weight I didn’t lose.  I was running way over 20 miles per week…I should be skinny, right?  Notsomuch.  My shorts from the previous Summer were snug.  Ughhhh!  I guess my body got used to my running and it wasn’t keeping the steady mid-life  weight creep away.   I had quite a few friends that had completed The Female Body Breakthrough by Rachel Cosgrove with great success. I  purchased the book and decided that I was going to complete the 16 week weight lifting program.  I have dabbled in weights…but never seriously lifted.  This was all new to me.  Luckily, I had a friend that agreed to do it with me.  It would have been much harder alone.  I had visions of losing 10lbs and firming up my arms, and wearing my shorts from last Summer.  That was my goal.  Not only did I meet my goal….I exceeded it!  I lost 20 lbs (didn’t know I had 20 to lose), lots of inches, and my body fat decreased by 5%.  Oh, and those snug shorts from last Summer?  They are too big.  Yep, I went down 2 sizes!!  Honestly, this is the best shape I have been in as an adult – and it feels amazing.  I did 3 workouts each week for about an hour.  I’m not going to lie, sometimes it was really hard.  But I did it.  I also followed phase 1 of her eating plan.  I ate clean – and I still eat clean (nothing processed).  I realized the benefits of eating clean immediately.  In the first week I lost 4lbs and my skin looked so much better.  I can’t believe that I have completely changed my body in 16 weeks.   This book is awesome.  I have learned so much.  The biggest lesson that I learned is that you need to build muscle to burn fat.  You should be lifting weights – the results are phenomenal.  I will continue to hit the weight room in the gym 3 times a week – I think the muscle heads at my gym are finally getting used to having me in their space 🙂 and I will continue to eat clean.  Why not take 16 weeks to feel good about yourself?

October 15, 2010. health, Review.

5 Comments

  1. karen replied:

    thanks for sharing! I actually have that book on my “must get around to reading” list. I will definitely have to check it out now 🙂

  2. Julie Gosselin replied:

    Thanks for the reminder!! I need a jump start and this may just be it!

  3. Holly replied:

    Sounds great to me too! I will check it out. I am the same way, no matter how little I eat or do I stay the same. Maybe weights and clean eating are the answer. Thanks Katy!

  4. Resolutions? Goals? Dreams? « KatyShops… replied:

    […] Another one of my friends set a goal to complete The Female Body Breakthrough by Rachel Cosgrove. I happen to like this goal.  I completed this program over the Summer and loved the results.  You can read about it here. […]

  5. Working on…. « KatyShops… replied:

    […] workout plan is designed by the husband of the author of the book that I just finished (The Female Body Breakthrough).  I am in stage 4 of this program.  I like it…but not as much as I liked his wife’s […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

