Happy Weekend.

Everything has been rained out this weekend.  Bleh.  I am spending some time reading my new book.  Why You Say It {The Fascinating Stories Behind Over 600 Everyday Words and Phrases}. This is a much different read than my usual snarky romantic novels.  I like it because I can pick it up and put it down without missing a beat.  Have 3 minutes to wait in the car line?  You can read up on a few phrases.  I have been very entertained learning about phrases that I use everyday.  Why do we say goosebumps, ducks in a row, or up to snuff?  You would be surprised to learn how these words/phrases found their way into our everyday language.

My favorite fact that I learned is that the word Hot Dog actually is named after the dachshund!  Yes, that’s right, because the original frankfurter resembles the shape of my beloved pet – it soon became universally called a hot dog.  I thought it was the other way around.  You know, the dog looks like the hot dog…so people started calling dachshunds hot dogs.  I was happy to learn that it was the other way around!  My dog is so proud to have helped name a popular food 🙂

This would be a great gift for Father’s Day – my father-in-law loves interesting facts.

Thomas Nelson Publishing provided me with a complimentary copy of this book and 100 % of the opinions given here are my own unless otherwise stated.
March 13, 2010. Review.

One Comment

  1. Mimi @ The Things We do replied:

    Does it also answer which came first, the chicken or the egg? And which came first, the cardinal as in bird or the Cardinal as in Holy Vatican dudes… I would suspect the latter came first – but still..

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

